$15 Minimum Wage by 2021!

Thats not enough to live in the year 2018. By 2021, they are going to be wishing they were making more

Then again, I understand it’s basic entry level work for most of the workers and barely requires any schooling besides a GED, so I understand why you shouldn’t expect to get paid a lot, esp to start.

I would assume certain positions start at more but I don’t know how it works at Disney.

I heard that on the radio here. New employees will get a starting bonus. Funny thing is...here we have a Disney Store in one of our malls. I have applied for a retail job there 4 times and I can't get hired. It is crazy! I have been working for the school system here for more than 10 years and have about 15 years of retail experience. I guess it will be even harder to get a job there now!

In 1970 I was 18 years old and started working in the motion picture business. It was a union job and my starting pay was $28.50 an hour. I worked in it for 32 years and retired at 50. Hate to tell you what I was making then.

50% more chicken feed than they get today! And a little more than starting pay for an Oklahoma teacher!

Unreal. Oklahoma teachers barely clear 30k?

This is the real issue. It's not that CMs aren't still underpaid, it's that most everyone is. If you could make 25 dollars an hour working at Disney or Chick-fil-a, there are a lot of people who would just be happy doing that (myself included) and not try for anything with more responsibility and stress. How do you balance (1) Incentivizing people to pursue skilled positions/higher education so that we can have the highest quality service across all industries (2) Making sure the lower class and unskilled workers make a living wage and are taken care of (3) Inflation?

I hope to see a day where we figure that out, and people working CM type jobs across the country can suddenly afford to go to WDW. And ya know, afford to feed themselves and go to the doctor when they need to.