4 hour marathon with post-half 12 wk plan?

Wendysofftoneverland

DIS Veteran
I was looking at the Jeff Galloway 12 wk plan for going from a half marathon to a full between the Wine and Dine and full marathon. I liked how it was only 3 days a week as opposed to the Hal Higdon novice 1 plan I used twice in the past. I already do high intensity cross training 1 to 3 times a week so only 3 run days would be more manageable. But there are only 3 runs longer than 14 miles. Which I liked, as I hate the long runs, but I didn't know if I would still be able to reach my goals. i am still pretty new at this, as it's is my 3rd marathon. (I did one 4 years ago and one 4 years before that. Apparently 4 years is how long it takes me to forget I hate training for a full.

I was looking at the Jeff Galloway 12 wk plan for going from a half marathon to a full between the Wine and Dine and full marathon. I liked how it was only 3 days a week as opposed to the Hal Higdon novice 1 plan I used twice in the past. I already do high intensity cross training 1 to 3 times a week so only 3 run days would be more manageable. But there are only 3 runs longer than 14 miles. Which I liked, as I hate the long runs, but I didn't know if I would still be able to reach my goals. i am still pretty new at this, as it's is my 3rd marathon. (I did one 4 years ago and one 4 years before that. Apparently 4 years is how long it takes me to forget I hate training for a full.

How fast have you run a recent Magic Mile, 5k, 10k, or Half Marathon? I think that would play a huge role in whether it would be enough to go sub-4.

It has been more than a year since I have done a race, but my magic mile was 7:06 at the end of July (which was an improvement on my 7:55 magic mile at the beginning of May when we started training).