A Whole New World, part 2 – and it all started with…a metric ton of planning!

bettymae1121

DIS Veteran
Pre-trip Report, part 2 – and it all started with…a metric ton of planning!

Link to Part 1

Author’s Note: Even though I’m not going to post this pre-trip report until just before our vacation in April 2018, I wrote Parts 1 and 2 in October and November of 2017.

So the reason I titled this trip report “A Whole New World” isn’t because I’m a huge fan of Aladdin. I mean, I like it and all and hey, Robin Williams! Still, not my motivation for the title.

I’ve been to WDW 6 times in my life, 5 of which as an adult who has planned the trip, plus 4 more DLR trips. So I am not a Disney vacation novice.

I’m also a travel agent with 20 years’ experience. Mostly corporate travel and not leisure, but still.

This is a girl who knows how to plan a WDW trip is what I’m saying.

On the other hand, our last trip was May of 2011. The Fantasyland expansion was still under construction and Toy Story Land was still a twinkle in some Disney employee’s eye, thus DHS was still fully functional. Fastpass still involved paper slips and lacked a plus sign. Pandora was just a charm bracelet.

Hell, the Jedi Order still worked for Lucas.

Okay, so things have changed a smidge. Maybe this calls for some research. Off to Amazon to order a certain not-official guide book for my iPad. And I start to read.

and read...

and read some more…

kept reading…

Oh boy.

Advance reservations for rides…SIXTY days in advance? ADR’s at 180? And you’d BETTER be online at 6 AM (Eastern, no less) if you even have a hope of a hard-to-get place like BoG or CRT.

Okay CRT was always a hard gig to score, at least some things stay the same.

Now I’m a Type-A person who likes to plan, hell “planning things” is my profession and how we pay the bills around here. But come on already, really?