Asking for Opinions

jackemail

Disney Veteran
I’ve never been to Disneyland, even though I am a seasoned WDW vet.

Planning on a solo trip to Disneyland in May.

I am debating 2 options.

Shall I go it alone, OR book an adults-only “Adventures by Disney” to Disneyland? (The tour includes 6 days in California, 11 meals, Day1 & 2 at Hollywood Hotel with tours of Hollywood and Jim Henson Studio, Day 3 a Disney Imagineering tour and check in to Grand Californian , Day 4 at Disneyland including a backstage tour and reserved seating for fireworks, Day 5 at DCA with seating at World of Color).

Opinions welcomed.

I love the sound of that tour, although I think a 3rd park day would be more ideal. Depends on how interested you are in the non-park / Los Angeles stuff.

I’d go alone. Mostly because I don’t like to be tied to any sort of schedule when I’m on a trip. There are a lot of people on this forum that go alone. You might find that there are others you could meet up with for part of the day yet not holding you to a full 6 day schedule.

The ABD is absolutely amazing, but I wouldn’t do it as your first ever trip to Disneyland. The trip is packed full of things, so by the end of it I was exhausted!

The ABD is absolutely amazing, but I wouldn’t do it as your first ever trip to Disneyland. The trip is packed full of things, so by the end of it I was exhausted!
Did you find any other negatives about the ABD...other than what you just noted?

I'd do it alone. I do solo trips several times a year (only one last year since we had a big family trip to WDW). I love my solo trips, because I can single ride, sit and drink beer for 30 minutes if I want, eat only churros one day, go rope drop to fireworks, do whatever I want, as I please. When DH or DD go with me, I don't get those simple pleasures. The tour sounds great, but I love my agenda-free days at the park!