Bring on the Wilderness: An adults only no parks getaway to the lodge

DisneyRegulars

DIS Veteran
I already have a trip report in progress, but this one has to be started in a timely manner or I will forget all the awesome mundane details that I love to write about. Right now I'm flying on a Southwest plane headed down to Wilderness Lodge for three kid free days of adult fun and games with my Grizzly.

For those who don't know me, I'm a college professor in upstate NY. I've got a six year old son who we are leaving at home this trip in the caring hands of Nana and Pepere. When I'm not writing lesson plans, trip reports or planning Disney vacations I can most likely be found racing on a BMX track, finishing a large 4000 piece puzzle of the earth (the water part is proving tricky!), or more recently capturing Pokemon and annoying my husband playing Pokemon Go. I have zero idea what to do with my pocket monsters, but they are super cute and I like collecting things, so for the moment I'm a little intrigued (just shy of obsessed).

Grizzly is my husband, and when we bought our DVC we started a tradition of taking a yearly trip for our anniversary. It's often our favorite weekend of the year. We will be married 14 years this week, and have managed to still like each other quite a bit, so I feel very lucky. Grizzly likes to cheer on Tigger and I on the BMX track, watch shows with zombies, and implement my crazy do it yourself ideas for our house. Latest escapade is refurbishing the pool table given to us for free that we played together on when we were first dating from my college dorm.

This trip we have a short three night stay at Wilderness Lodge in a studio. It's our first time at the resort, I will try to ignore the construction in my judgements of it. I love the national park lodges, so I'm pretty excited about this stay.