Can I get infected from reused gloves during blood draw?

kboo42

Earning My Ears
The person taking my blood had visible stains of blood (from other people) on her gloves. Obviously she is not throwing the gloves after each blood draw. Is this a cause of concern? Could I get hepatitis or any other blood borne disease? And what are those blood borne diseases?

edit: please provide some sources like: I worked in healthcare... or I had this issue before... or Here are some references...

Few people here assumed I am faking this post. No, I am actually not. I found about disboards by google search. I've found a related article on this forum. I assume many of the people here come from the USA and it's hard for them to believe the practices that happen in third-world countries. Trust me, people in third-world countries can be ignorant and very careless. I have actual concerns and getting a bit anxious because of this whole incident.

Thank you!

Last edited:
In the future, if you ever see that again, STOP that lab tech in her tracks and do not let her anywhere near you! And report her. Good grief! Why would you let someone with already bloody gloves draw blood from you?!!!

I saw it too late. I reported her as well! Is it possible that I can get infected?

I would assume it is possible. However, highly unlikely due to the fact that the attendant most likely never touched the needle or the spot on your skin where the needle inserted.
Still, if someone is that careless with gloves, I would be nervous about the rest of the process too. I would get as high up in the chain of command as you can go and demand free testing for blood borne pathogens, just so you can rest easy after their employee's egregious mistake.

Thank you for the advice. She just put the cotton ball with alcohol on top of the insertion spot! Do you think a disease an be transferred from the cotton ball?

Last edited: