Can you get an appetizer instead of desert on the DP?

WL2000

Mouseketeer
I am new to the DP, are you able to swap out your desert for an appetizer for a table service credit?

I am new to the DP, are you able to swap out your desert for an appetizer for a table service credit?
I've heard of some restaurants allowing this. It depends upon the value of the item, and what that particular cast member tells you. I wouldn't count on it, but it never hurts to ask.

I've never been able to do it. We have asked cast members, and they have said "no." (Of course, I can't remember which TS now.) But I have heard of other folks on the boards that have been able to do so, so feel free to ask your server!

TS restaurants very very rarely will let you exchange a dessert for an appetizer. Once in a while someone will post that they were allowed to do it, so you can ask, but it would be pixie dust.

If a restaurant has a cheese plate on their dessert menu, they might let you order it as an appetizer.

If you don't want dessert you can ask and some restaurants will offer a substitution, but it will be an item of their choice. Most often it will be a small side salad, a cup of soup or a veggie dish and not an appetizer from the menu.

Last edited:

Thanks, everyone. I guess it will be worth a polite ask. If, it's a no, no big deal:)

It’s a big deal. If Disney actually allowed this the dining plan popularity would surge. They don’t. Ever.

ive read a one off post here and there and never believe them. I read most posts here and have for close to 18 years. This is not a thing. Feel free to ask, but it’s a big fat no.

the only exception, and it is defined in the dining plan literature, is dessert for a cup of soup or other small item. You will never trade a cake slice for shrimp.

if dessert w every TS does not entice you, reconsider a dining plan.

It’s a big deal. If Disney actually allowed this the dining plan popularity would surge. They don’t. Ever.