Can you or your children diagram a sentence?

Probably not. And I'm a teacher. Don't know why I or my children would need to. DD19 is a successful college sophomore who excels at writing without this skill.

I've noticed that, too, but am more concerned that history and government are now rarely being taught in elementary school.

These changes are due to standardized testing, btw. History, government, and sentence diagramming are not on elementary standardized tests.

I spent my entire 7th grade diagramming sentences. I didn't mind it.

My kids were never taught to diagram in school, but I've touched on it at home with them, as well.

I could diagram a simple sentence. Once I get past the verb/noun/adverb parts I'm lost.

Ditto. Due to having my English class moved my sophomore year of English (when they taught advanced diagramming), I never learned how to do it the way shown in the NPR link. My original teacher planned to teach it in October; the class was moved in mid-September and my new teacher had already covered the topic. I can identify subject and object, verb/noun/adverb, but that's about it.

Importantly, the lack of this knowledge has never once impacted my life.

Nope. For some reason, I've always had problems with this. I remember learning about it in school, but it just never "stuck" for some reason.

I'm stronger in subjects like statistics or civics/American government and history. English? Not so much! ;)

Last edited:
I can! I teach 6th, 7th and 8th grade Language Arts at a Catholic K-8 school. The kids start diagramming in 3rd grade. Gerunds, participles, infinitives, prepositions, clauses...I can diagram them all and so can my students.

We never really learned officially, but I had a teacher in jr. high who would threaten to make us spend the entire period diagramming sentences as punishment for misbehavior. We only did it a few times, so I totally don't remember how.