Canada Day in Vancouver

belle2008

Mouseketeer
I posted this over on the cruise forums but they suggested I post here too so hopefully this is the right place to do so. My family is going on the Alaska cruise in July (yay!) and will be in Vancouver for Canada Day. I found the official website with events going on but as this is my first time in Canada to begin with, I have no idea what the day will be like. We'll be traveling with a bunch of family including three toddlers and relying on walking/public transportation. Any fun events going on that would be good for kids? Places we should avoid? Anything else we need to know? TIA!

The events around Canada Place (the cruise terminal) are easily accessible and family friendly especially during the day. There should be a firework show at night.

I would recommend Granville Island, which you can get to on transit, there will be several live bands and other street performer types, all of the shows are free. The water taxi over to Granville Island offers an interesting perspective of the city, from the water. www.granvilleisland.com

They cancelled the parade this year :(

The events around Canada Place (the cruise terminal) are easily accessible and family friendly especially during the day. There should be a firework show at night.

I would recommend Granville Island, which you can get to on transit, there will be several live bands and other street performer types, all of the shows are free. The water taxi over to Granville Island offers an interesting perspective of the city, from the water. www.granvilleisland.com

They cancelled the parade this year :(

Thanks for the advice! That is definitely a bummer about the parade but Granville Island sounds interesting!

@belle2008: Which hotel are staying at? Are you arriving in Vancouver on July 1st?

Thoughts...
  • this is a long weekend... expect congestion at attractions and hotel prices will be a premium