Child just turning 3

Ryanne

Earning My Ears
i know at a Disney a child under 3 is free, child over 3 is not. We have a child in our group who is turning 3 right around our trip. She is listed as an infant for our room reservation. Our room holds 5 plus an infant. We have 4 adults, a 4 year old and the "baby". So we aren't maxing out our room. but I also want to buy her tickets to the park - I don't want any issues if someone asks her age or whatever (even though it's slim). I don't want to have to worry about it.

Can I buy tickets and have them linked to her magic band even though she is under 3 in our room reservation? I am new to Disney vacation club. We have our reservations but no tickets yet. I know she will get a magic band with our room reservation. Not sure if I can still link ticktes to it even though she is an "infant"

An infant is usually a baby up to, at max, one year old. An almost-3 year old is not an infant. OP, you pretty much acknowledge that with your quotes.

See next post for clarification of status.

Last edited:
They count an infant as any child under the age of 3 - which she is. Any child under three does not count towards the room. We are allowed 5 adults and 1 underage child.

But she will be turning 3 during our trip. So I wanted to purchase her park tickets. I wa t to know if I can purchase in advance and have them linked to the magic banned or if they will not let you purchase or link anything for an underage child

To clarify: a single person under 3 does not impact room capacity. The good news for you is that Disney treats you as the age you are for the first day of your visit for your entire visit. In other words: you don't need a ticket at all for someone who turns 3 on the trip. You should be able to NOT have t spend extra $.