BriLovesDisney

DIS Veteran
Hello, I hope I'm doing this correctly as I'm new to the DisBoards!

My family will be spending Dec. 20-27 in Disney this year. This is the first time we are visiting in 5 years so we are all very excited. Although we have been at peak times before (spring break, summer, and Thanksgiving week) we have never been during the holidays.

I've heard a lot of crazy stories regarding crowd levels and such for this time of year and we are starting to get a little concerned. We are all adults so there are some attractions and activities that don't entice us (standing in line for characters for example).

Do any of you have any advice or suggestions for our family for our peak season trip? Thanks!

It will be less busy from the 20th to the 22nd, so I would try to get as much done ride wise those first three days as you can.

If you like table service dining, make ADRs in advance. There will be little to none walk in availability. Counter service will be very crowded, even at off times.

From the 23rd to the 27th, plan on staying in one park each day. The worst days crowdwise, based on my experience, will be the 25th to 27th. You will want to be in the park when it opens and not leave until you are done for the day. With Christmas being on Monday, there could be a lot of guests there for a long weekend (my office is closed Monday and Tuesday). Book your FP+!

Consider doing more of the shows on the more crowded days, as the bulk of the crowds will be heading for rides.

I went just for Christmas Day one year. I chose Epcot and was there at park opening. Did as many attractions standby for about an hour and a half, then had my three FP. Scheduled a Candlelight lunch package ahead of time, so after the lunch, I watched some live shows in WS, and went to the 5:00 CP. The park was busy, but didn’t feel busy because I had planned it out ahead of time.

Pack your patience and have fun!

Hi :flower3: