Cold weather dwellers...do you escape the cold in the winter?

HeatherC

Alas...these people I live with ...
I do! Here in New England the Winter can be long. One year (about 13 years ago)we took the kids to Disney over Feb. school break and a tradition was started.

We loved a mid winter escape from the cold and have somehow turned it into a yearly thing. Kids are grown, so this year dh and I are doing a 9 night cruise (flying in a few days early) and then my 23 year old daughter (teacher) is flying to meet me in Florida for her school break. DH will fly home and I will stay in Florida for another week. We plan to visit Orlando for a few days.

I am a substitute teacher, so work is very flexible and I know I am soo lucky to be able to do this.

Anybody else try to do a mid winter escape?

Use too. Kids can’t be pulled out of school now that they are older and school break is too busy and expensive.
We plan on being snowbirds in a decade when we retire.

We’re in Buffalo. We’ve gone away for spring break for about 15 years now. This is the first year we’re going away in February ( Florida) and in April (Caribbean). Now that our kids have flown the coop we can afford more trips for just the two of us!

There's a reason why the prime tourist season in tropical destinations are in winter. It's obviously not as hot and about the time when people in cold climates are looking for an escape. And while it's not necessarily the greatest weather around this area, there are plenty of tourists visiting San Francisco around December.

We do try to get away for a week or two in February. We live in Eastern Ontario.

I like the cold what with not having to shovel snow, clean off the car, or worry much about weather knocking the electricity out;). That being said we often winter vacation in places that are colder than where we live but we can visit places that are much warmer as well.