Complete Beginner Here- Need Planning Help

naomiatx86

Mouseketeer
Hello to all you great Disney people!

I stumbled upon the runDisney site and now I'm greatly intrigued. I budgeted out 3 trips for next year to possibly run the Expedition Everest Challenge, Tower of Terror 10 Miler and the Wine & Dine Half Marathon but well that isn't really feasible for me in both budget and running. I started looking at doing the 5ks.

My questions are...

1) If you participate in the 5k (exception is EEC) are you allowed to attend the after parties in the park?

2) How far in advance did you plan for the event? How soon were you able to register? How soon did they release the dates of the event? How did you find out registration was open?

3) Did anybody just wing it and reserved a hotel room based on the date of the last race? Would you stay in a host resort again?

Thank you!

Looking at the info for the nighttime races, no, the 5K participants do not get access to the parties. They have to buy separate tickets.

An example of how far in advance you sign up, the next race "up" for registering is the Princess Half. That's next February, and registration will be in July.

If it's your first race, start preparing whenever you decide to do it. I was already running, so I was already in training. I look at the Galloway training plans on rundisney and basically follow them for the races I've signed up for.

I like being at a host resort because transportation is easy. Though they say that it's not hard to stay offsite or at a non-host for Wine&Dine as long as you have a car.

Registration for Tower of Terror and Wine & Dine usually falls in the February/March/April range depending on whether or not you have an annual pass/dvc membership since those people get early registration. Tower of Terror sells out a little slower, and Wine & Dine sold out within days of it opening to the general public this year. Was it 24 hours or something like that?