DAS + Rider swap

Cnb289

Earning My Ears
I am new to both DAS and rider swap. Can they be used together?
DAS is for my husband. We will also have our toddler whom we will need to rider swap on the taller height rides.

Any tips or suggestions welcome.

Yes. All riders must get a DAS return-time. Then when it's time to ride, the DAS-holder must be in the 1st party to ride; rider swap will be given to the 2nd party.
I have a question about rider swap with DAS:

We will be getting DAS for my teenage son with autism. He's tall enough to ride everything, but on very rare occassions will get cold feet for certain rides. Possible scenario- We get a return time for our whole family to ride ToT. Dear son is totally fine with it until we are literally about to enter the ride vehicle (this has happened at random on a handful of rides). At that moment, could we ask for rider switch for my partner and myself? Even though the DAS person has chickened out and will not be riding? Would we just forfeit the wait we had already completed? Im guessing this might be up to the discretion of individual CMs at the moment?

Has this happened to anyone else?

Im guessing this might be up to the discretion of individual CMs at the moment?
That would be my guess as well. Would your son be able to wait with one of you at the boarding area, or at that point does he need to leave the ride area? I don't believe the CMs at ride load would be able to issue an official rider swap but they may allow you to wait with him at the boarding while some of your party rides and then swap as they finish. That is how "rider swap" works for those who meet the height requirement. If he would be bordering on a meltdown and need to exit, I don't think you could get a swap (technically they could deny any of you riding if the DAS-holder backs out but unlikely).