DAY 2 of 3 - Mon. 5/17/04

PrincessTToo

Mouseketeer
PRESHOW – A half-price/double-miles fare sale on NWA to LAX was all the incentive I needed for a trip to Disneyland. I’ve only been to Disneyland one other time (October 2002) but I’m a WDW veteran.

SHOW – I woke up to a blinking alarm in my room at the GC Hotel at 5:30 AM. I guess it doesn’t buzz, just blinks. I’m not sure who would be woken up by a blinking alarm. I consider myself a light sleeper but not that light. I still got to Storytellers Café for my 7:00 AM reservation even after taking a wrong turn in the hotel.

The restaurant was so empty it looked like it wasn’t even open yet. I was expecting the place to be hopping. Chip said hi to me at the door. Actually he was saying hi to the people behind me but he might have thought I was with them. At least that’s what I told myself.

I got seated on the right-half of the restaurant. I had that side of the restaurant all to myself. But I really wanted to be where the action was. The closest I got to the characters was Chip at the door. I later saw him go to one of the computer stations and punch something in and sigh. I figured he was seeing the note that I was a Pluto fan.

The buffet was great and I had a wonderful waiter. After finishing my first plate of food, he asked me if I wanted anything else and I asked if they were going to have Mickey waffles. He said he’d make sure there were some. I was expecting they would put them out in the buffet but shortly afterwards a chef walks up and brings me my own plate of Mickey waffles. How nice!

Having finished my characterless breakfast, I had lots of time to explore the hotel before the parks opened. I walked around the pools. No one was there except some lady doing laps. I didn’t realize that all the GC Hotel the pools were right next to each other. So much for a “quiet” pool! I sat in a corner by a spa (hot tub) and called my husband at work. It was nice to hear his voice.