DAY 3 of 3 - Tues. 5/18/04

PrincessTToo

Mouseketeer
PRESHOW – A half-price/double-miles fare sale on NWA to LAX was all the incentive I needed for a trip to Disneyland. I’ve only been to Disneyland one other time (October 2002) but I’m a WDW veteran.

SHOW – I slept in until 7:00 AM. The coffee in my room at the GC Hotel was wonderful. I sat out on my balcony with the coffee and listened to the park waking up. No cigarette smoke this time. I guess whoever was smoking yesterday checked out or got yelled at.

I used my compact binoculars to watch them testing California Screamin’ and the Sun Wheel. I also caught up on my journal and made a list of to-dos for the day. They were tuning the piano in the lobby so that speeded up my urgency to get out of my room. By the way, even though I could hear almost every sound from the lobby in my room, once I shut my balcony door I couldn’t hear anything from the park or the pool.

I got to the private DCA entrance at about 9:30 AM. It only took a couple seconds to get through the line. It looked like Soarin’ was open but I was looking to be one of the first people to ride California Screamin’. So I got in line in front of the sun sculpture waiting for the rest of the park to open. The CM said very nicely but very firmly that once he removed the rope that we should WALK to our destination. I was expecting a stampede but everyone did indeed walk. Bravo!

I was in the 2nd car for California Screamin’. It’s changed a little bit since when we were there in 2002. They added a countdown like the Rock n’ Roller Coaster. And there was lots of music. Maybe the music was always there but the countdown wasn’t. Anyway, it’s tied for my 2nd favorite roller coaster. Nothing can touch the Hulk at Universal but California Screamin’ and Rock ‘n Roller Coaster come close.