DCL website and a couple of questions...

Dis5150

DIS Veteran
Hello all! I am a total newbie to this section of the Disboards. You can usually just find me on the runDisney section. I have been on one cruise, RC I believe, about 15ish years ago and I was seasick the whole time. So I haven't considered another cruise since. Well, in the past few years we (I) have become Disney addicts! And next summer DH and I will be celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary so I am (slowly) talking him in to a Disney Cruise! He is actually down for it, if I can get us a good deal. So I have a couple of questions for you veteran cruisers:

1. DH is a smoker. He is totally fine with only smoking in the smoking areas, I'm just wondering where they are located and if it is the same on each ship? We will, more than likely, be taking a 7 day eastern Caribbean cruise on the Fantasy.

2. What are your tricks/tips to avoid sea sickness? I took Bonine every day of our Universal trip last year and did not get motion sickness at all so will be taking that along. Wondering if getting the patch is worth it?

3. Do most of you book directly thru Disney or use a TA? What are the benefits of one over the other, if any?

4. Every time I go on the Disney Cruise Line portion of their website I get the "We're working on it" screen. Like for days now. Is there somewhere else I can look at prices and such? And is anyone else having that problem?

Thanks in advance! I'm sure I will have many more questions in the next few months! I am currently reading all the great posts and trip reports! :)

So I don't have answers for most of your questions, but I wanted to give some advice for seasickness. Try and get a room that is as close to the middle as possible, this will help with motion. Looking at the horizon can help with seasickness, so getting either an ocean view or verandah is a must. In an interior you won't be able to see it and it can make motion sickness worse.