Deaf Question

Eeyoreluver

DS and DD CP Alumni
My daughter is applying to be a Spring College Programer. She is currently studying in ASL 1. (Basic American Sign Language). My question is has anyone come across Cast Members or College Program people who know ASL? How helpful would my daughter be knowing only the basic signs? She is very excited about her new "skill" and is looking foward to using it! :)

CMs at WDW who know another language have information on their nametags that indicate what languages they speak (little country flags attached to the bottom of their nametag). People who are fluent in ASL have a similar "flag" with a sign for sign language.
I don't know how fluent you have to be to get one of those flags, but I imagine it involves some testing/certification so they can ensure a basic level of knowledge.
I do know that when I was a college student, I knew some very basic signs that came in handy when I worked in a store in customer service. Even though I didn't understand or sign much (and never did get enough practice to do finger spelling), the people with hearing impairments I saw were happy to encounter someone who had taken the trouble to learn even a little bit.

ASL like any language needs to be used in order to keep proficient. My DD took ASL as her language requirement in college. I knew a little but both of us have lost a lot of our vocabuary due to non use. My DBIL learned some when one of his co workers signed but he too has lost a lot from not using it. I hope your DD gets to use her skills and keeps them sharp.
Even the basic signs come in handy. My DD was a car dealership when she saw some folks having difficulty. She recognized that they signing and offered her help. They were surprised and grateful. They couldn't believe that she learned ASL just because she wanted to and that she had no relative/friend that signed.
I wish your DD good luck.