Disney Golf advise............

bradpga

Mouseketeer
No, I don't need help with my game. Actually I am a PGA golf professional at a private club in Mississippi. We are SSR owners and have 2 children. Our trips have consist of park hopping and well....park hopping. However- we are going back to Disney in October and we are going to attempt to take it easy by spending more time at the resort itself and I would like to get in a round or two. Anyway, I have not played any of the courses (I believe there is 5?) . I think the Funai PGA Event is held on Magnolia and Palm courses.

Have you played these courses? Which is your favorite and why? Please rate them 1 thru 5. I am more interested in the condition, layout, and scenery. Difficulty not a factor. Thanks-Brad

Also- I believe I read something about a DVC member golf tournament?????

I am a bogey golfer and enjoy the Palm and Magnoia far more than Eagle Pines or Osprey Ridge. The Palm and Magnolia are more open and forgiving, especially from the middle tees. I think that someone of your ability would be more challenged at EP or OR, especially from the back tees. They have tighter fairways, more water and a lot of sand, compared to the Palm and Magnolia. I have seen more wildlife though on the Palm and Magnolia, especially late in the afternoon.

HBC

The Funai Classic is in October and played at the Magnolia and Palm so those may be unavailable. Of the other courses I would rate them as follows

1: Osprey Ridge Most Scenic and best layout
2: Eagle Ridge
3: Lake Buena Vista
All are usually in fine condition, but call down there ahead of time to be sure
While I rated LBV #3, it does have some advantages, staying at SSR you can walk to the Pro shop (They will store your clubs). If you stay at OKW, your kids may be able to watch you play a couple of holes from the room as the course winds thru the resort.