Disney World vs. Disney Land

phdmommy

Earning My Ears
I have been reading and studying about Disney World for a few years now. We are going this August for a week and I feel sufficiently informed of what to expect. Now, soon after this Disney World trip in August, we will be on a road trip in west coast and passing by Disney Land. So a little over 2 weeks after Disney World, we will be in Disney Land.

I am really looking for thoughts/experiences/opinion about this. Especially if you have been to both. I have no single knowledge about Disney Land and somewhat feel like I might be underestimating it a little. Is it very different than Disney World? If it is anything like DW, then I am kinda late with making dining reservations and what not. But my question is how much of a difference is it? Is it similar enough (or perhaps a little less) to DW that we wont care for it, because we just went to DW? And if so, maybe it's okay to just wing it and not have a plan?

I've only been to DLR a handful of times, so I am no expert.

DL is much smaller, which also mean much more doable in a shorter amt of time. It is also more convenient to go from DL to CA. Its just a short walk. No need to get back in car or on monorail/boat to get from one park to another like at WDW.

You can def do both parks in one really long day, which we have done. Or we have also done an overnight at one of the DLR hotels. Paradise Pier I think it was. You didn't mention if you will have kids with you or not.

Our course of action is usually to do the things that WDW doesn't have or the rides that are diffent than at WDW first. That way if we don't have time for things that are the same its not really a big deal.

We have never done any reservations at DLR and have just done QS mostly.

Hope that helps at least a little.