Do you do everything you can to get out of jury duty?

anniet

DIS Veteran
Dave Barry wrote something like (I'm paraphrasing here) "If you commit a crime in this country you have a right to a jury of your peers consisting of twelve people who are too stupid to get out of jury duty"

I recently did jury duty because I felt it was my civic duty, but was amazed at the number of people who had excuses and there ended up being a few people on my jury who illustrated Dave Barry's comment to a T.

So do you welcome jury duty or do you tell the court you're related to a cop or some other lie to get out of it?:eek:

I received my duty card only a couple of times, but when I called, I was told I don't need to show up.

Depending on what it is, the prosecutor would WANT me :)

I have never understood why most people have no interest in serving on a jury. I have been excused twice, all the while hoping that I would be chosen. I feel it would be an educational experience. I work in health care, and the judicial system is one I'm not familiar with. What better way to get aquainted with it than by sitting on a jury? (and getting paid, and getting out of work!) I also have great respect for our system of American law, and would love to learn more. It is definitely a dream of mine to serve in this way, maybe someday....

I served on a federal criminal case for 13 weeks several years ago. Is was an inconvenience, but I saw how much expense and work went into the case on both sides and decided the least I could do was fulfill my obligation.

Jury duty can be a pain, especially if you don't get paid by your job (I did), but the jury system is one of the things what allows us to call ourselves a free country. Would you rather just put yourself at the mercy of a judge?

I'm actually hoping to get called again soon. I could use the break from work.