Do you think you respond differently depending on the poster?

NewGoal

Earning My Ears
So I unknowingly started a very controversial thread and got some harsh responses. I totally get the harsh responses because to some posters it is very black and white. But it led me to think, if I had posted with my old account, will the responses be less harsh? I've been posting since 2003, although I'm not super active, I've had many thread interactions with posters that were very harsh on my other thread. I'm wondering if they knew the real me, and my posts through the years. Would they have formed an opinion of the 'real' me and will they have responded to my post differently? (maybe still point out my wrong, just not so harsh....lol)

So I unknowingly started a very controversial thread and got some harsh responses. I totally get the harsh responses because to some posters it is very black and white. But it led me to think, if I had posted with my old account, will the responses be less harsh? I've been posting since 2003, although I'm not super active, I've had many thread interactions with posters that were very harsh on my other thread. I'm wondering if they knew the real me, and my posts through the years. Would they have formed an opinion of the 'real' me and will they have responded to my post differently? (maybe still point out my wrong, just not so harsh....lol)
People might possibly be less harsh if they knew who you were or they could have been even more harsh. Lol. You just never know.

I tend to think, when people have very strong opinions about things, they’ll express their opinion no matter who you are. So all in all, I don’t think it really makes a difference one way or the other.

Absolutely there have been rude and snarky responses that were based on a history. That happens almost anywhere if there are regulars posting.

Doesn't matter. If you post anything the least bit controversial or against the "norm" posters are going to pounce.