Does anyone know about being a Certified Nursing Assistant?

Mickey'snewestfan

DIS Veteran
My son has decided that he would like to be an R.N. I think he has the perfect personality for nursing (hard working, kind, compassionate, super patient and polite), and that it's a good fit for him, however, given his track record in the sciences I think he needs to take the prerequisites slowly.

I have suggested that he look into getting his C.N.A. this year, while he finishes his last year of high school, and then working part time while he completes his nursing prerequisites and an associate's degree. There's a university near us that has an 18 month B.S.N. program for people with an AA and all the prerequisites, so he could continue his studies there.

Does anyone have any thoughts or advice? Does this seem like a reasonable plan of action? What is the job outlook like for C.N.A.'s right now?

I think that's an excellent stepping stone to his career. I worked as an aide when I was in nursing school and it gave me a lot of excellent experience.

CNAs are crucial members of the healthcare team. They are overworked and underpaid. It is a physically demanding job and good working conditions often depend on the team you're working with. Good luck to him!

I think it's a good plan. There is always a need for CNAs, for all the reasons listed above: it's hard work and they do not get paid what they are truly worth.
I went the route you are talking about and I highly recommend it. You might want to look at tuition reimbursement opportunities at the nearby medical facilities. A lot of hospitals have these types of programs. I would try to get a CNA position at a hospital with tuition reimbursement to cover his nursing courses. He could get through his education with only the cost of his prereqs.