DVC Membership

Keith Francis

Earning My Ears
Hi
As a family we are thinking of buying some Resale DVC points. I have two main questions. First, I see there is a minimum amount of points set by Disney to become a member of 150 points. Does this apply to Resale points, would it be possible on our first purchase to buy less than 150 points from resale and use the Disney accommodation? Second, which points web site do you as members recommend because I see that some charge extras but do some very valuable checks. Do the Resale websites that don't charge do the same checks?

Hi Keith, and welcome to the DIS.

I always understood that the minimum initial purchase was 150 points however you bought them, but I have read of a recent example on the US DVC boards where a resale for less than 100 points went through for an initial purchaser.

As far as reslae agents go, I'm afraid I have no experience of any of them, but many on the US DVC board recommend The Timeshare Store, Shontell Crawford and a couple fo others. If you take a look through some of the recent posts there you may fid some more information on that.

Here's a link to the US DVC board

When I bought my resale at the beginning of the year I dealt with Shontell Crawford while she was still at the Timeshare Store and she was very efficient and helpful and all went smoothly. She has since set up her own business so I would be happy to deal with either company if I bought another resale in the future.

One thing I will mention about resale is that they can take quite a while (at least a couple of months) from the start until you become a DVC member and you have control of your points. This can be important if you want to bank your points for the next year and you can see the banking deadlines slipping away while you wait for the all important membership cards!

If you have more questions about resales just ask.