Eeek... family moving to Japan Air Force base...

Mommy2PrincessAbby

DIS Veteran
My favorite niece and her hubby just got orders to the base on Japan... the google tells me they will be 1.5 hours from Disney! This of course means we will have to go visit them. I have no knowledge other than Tokyo Disney is supposed to be wicked cool. I promise I will read the boards. But thoughts on best times to go... if we have to go over a break (I have a high schooler, so pulling out of school is not really possible), is late March good for Japan? November break? Or summer better? How many days? We are 3-4 days at DL type people (the more the better, honestly.) I know nothing about Japan, other must sees while we are there, assuming a week? We live on the west coast... so not the worst flights from the US I guess. I am so excited for her... they have 3 boys (5, 4, 3...) so I am sure they will go more than once in the 4 years they will be over there. TIA!

do not pick march, it is really busy then. November can be good depending when you go. Early summer is good, as in end of June begging of July. usually they have their tanabata celebration which means you will see people dressed up in their yukata (light summer kimonos). The max amount of days they sell is 4. This is what I like to get, plus they also sell evening passes which are great for arrival day.

We are 3-4 days at DL type people (the more the better, honestly.) I know nothing about Japan, other must sees while we are there, assuming a week? We live on the west coast... so not the worst flights from the US I guess. I am so excited for her... they have 3 boys (5, 4, 3...) so I am sure they will go more than once in the 4 years they will be over there. TIA!

I'd recommend at least four days at TDR, and the same for Tokyo, plus two for Kyoto. Could you do a long week? Two weeks would be better so you could add a couple of days in Osaka, and one to see Hiroshima. You could also spend a day visiting Yokohama.