Fast Pass Selections/Rider Swap (First trip with a toddler)

Frances Procaccio

Earning My Ears
We will be going on our first trip with a 23 month old (she turns 2 while we're there), this coming February. What advice does anyone have about which attractions to fast pass and their experiences with rider swap? I was planning to pick two fast passes a day for rides that she can come on with us and then maybe one that she can't do, Space Mountain for example, and using rider swap for it but any input would be appreciated. I have never done rider swap before. I'm an avid Disney Parks person so I'm well aware of which rides she can and cannot go on but this is my first trip with a toddler and this will be my DH first trip since he was a child himself. Thank you in advance! :)

We did something like this on our first "family" trip a few years ago, when our oldest was still below 40 inches. It was a very fun trip.

We spent most of our time in MK and AK. If anything, we probably over-planned the trip in terms of FP strategies. Thanks to rider swap, you can basically have double FPs for the height requirement rides if you want them. My wife and I still had fun riding a few things by ourselves, but it was more fun to stick together as a family. I think we gave away about 15 rider swaps by the end of our week-long trip.

We had one minor "disaster" when my wife was stuck in Soarin' for an hour, with no cell service inside. Meanwhile, I was having fun with our two little boys, riding Living with the Land, then running around Innoventions and meeting Chip & Dale, but she was stressed over the time it was taking with a ride malfunction.