First attempt at a dining review 9/19 - 9/26

JimC77

Earning My Ears
Hi Everyone,

We just returned from an 8 day trip to Disney and after basing many of our dining choices on reviews I read here I'd like to return the favor! First a little bit about our family and what our plans were for the trip.

Our band of Adventurers
me - 40-something, dad of 3 boys, and chief Disney planner, drinker of MUCH coffee, and 1 previous trip to Disney
DW - age-not-to-be-documented, 2 previous trips to Disney, coordinating shirt planner
DS - 13 years old, lover or all things sports or seafood, 1st trip to Disney
DS2 - 9 years old, loves all rides and especially loves big cheeseburgers, 1st trip to Disney
DS3 - 8 years old, thrill seeker and lover of macaroni and cheese, 1st trip to Disney

The Plan
We stayed 7 nights in AKL-KV on rented points and I spent a LONG time debating about the dining plan. After studying the menus and plugging everything into a spreadsheet (did I mention I'm an engineer ;) ) it looked like we could spend a bit less on food compared to the dining plan so we decided to pay OOP. The plan was to eat breakfast in our room, spend the morning until early afternoon in a park, then come back to the room for a late lunch and to rest/swim. We had a TS dinners planned for each evening then we could go back into the parks to enjoy the evening shows.

9/19 Arrival Day - dinner at Boma, our flight landed at MCO ~4PM and we had a reservation for 6:50PM.
9/20 MK Day - Dinner at Whispering Canyon
9/20 AK Day - Dinner at Yak & Yeti
9/21 resort Day - Brunch at Chef Mickey and Dinner at Ohana
9/22 HS Day - Dinner at Sci-Fi Dine in Theater
9/23 EP Day - Dinner at Garden Grill
9/24 2nd MK Day - Lunch at BOG and Dinner at Sanaa