first family trip

dledger

Mouseketeer
Im new to the family boards, as we have somewhat recently found out we are expecting a little one in early August. We currently have a trip in May 2018 booked, but are rescheduling for 2019 (most likely March) with our new baby. This trip is not for the baby, obviously, but mostly because we will have airline vouchers to use up and the baby is free - so why not?

So my question. We have been to Disney before, but this is our first child. We’ve obviously never traveled with a baby. I have tried looking for resources on tips for air travel and tips for travel to Disney - but they seem to be a mixed bag. I’ve been reading up on these boards but does anyone have tips? I THINK we will be staying at our home resort, POR- though I’d love to stay at BLT- it’s just not in the budget. We MIGHT have two extra sets of hands in my parents, but would like to only use them when we go on the bigger rides (splash, btmrr, and soarin specifically) and maybe for the wine tasting at AKL. We are rope dropping, park hopping people who DO return to the room to freshen up and rest.

I know this is broad, but I’m kind of looking for the gammet of information or even resources on planning the transition from 2 adults traveling to 2 adults and a (probably 7 month old) baby!

I haven't brought mine yet (that's in May) but I've had three friends bring their young ones. My friend took her son at 9 months old, for the most part at that age it's like bringing furniture. Furniture that pees, poops, eats, and sleeps. She actually preferred bringing him at 9 months to 14 months. Another friend took her almost year old, and while they planned on doing breaks back at the hotel, her daughter slept in the stroller or in her baby carrier during the day, so they just kept going.

Every kid is different though.

I would definitely use Amazon Prime Now for the diaper/baby food order, sure bring some with you but not for the whole trip.