First time gluten free visitor.

BattyMcDoon

DIS Veteran
I recently found out that I have a pretty bad intolerance to gluten, so I am still rather new to being gluten free. I've been researching and trying to find first hand experiences with people who eat at the parks gluten free with as much recent information as possibly but most of what I'm finding is older and out dated. I reached out to the special disney email and got a seemingly generic, long email telling me nothing really helpful. Just stuff about suppliers and to let my server know when I get there....

We are planning on going during food and wine and I was a bit disappointed to not see a whole lot that I will be able to or want to eat on the menus. And we also have reservations at Bon Voyage Breakfast and 50s Prime Time for a late lunch. I know that places tend to be very accommodating, which is great, but I'm still trying to get past the initial shyness/embarrassment of needing that special treatment of my food and still trying to find my voice and how to properly speak up about things I don't want or that make me uncomfortable about my intolerance. (I had a pretty poor experience of ordering my first meal out which was only maybe a month ago now and some places have still been difficult since)

Any suggestions of where I can look? Does anyone have any first hand experience with this them self?