First Time Volunteer at Give Kids the World. Questions.

soniam

Wooden leg named Smith...
I am hoping to have my family volunteer at Give Kids the World on our next Orlando trip in July. I need to know how much time to plan. We will have to do orientation, since we have never volunteered there before. I saw the paper work online, so I will fill that out. My question is how long is the orientation. Would we be able to do the orientation and volunteer in the same day? Are the volunteer slots 4 hours? Thanks

Hey! I've been volunteering there for a few years now! It's such a great opportunity to give back, and so much fun!

If I remember right, orientation takes 4-6 hours. I don't remember since it's been so long. Once that's done, you can ask if there's anything open for you and your family to do that afternoon/evening. They have shifts as early as like, 6 or 7 in the morning and late as midnight. The hours vary based on what you're doing during your shift. And you can pick up several shifts a day if you want!

The main thing I did was volunteer on Wednesday or Saturday for the horse rides. A retired couple brings two horses that are therapy trained so that every child has the opportunity to ride a horse if they want. That shift is usually 8-11 if I remember right. They ask that you show up a little early so they can train you on what you're doing for the shift.

It's so much fun, you and your family will love it!