FP FAQ ADDENDUM: Checking Availability; Park Hopping; Additional Tier 1 Booking; Anytime FPs; CL FPs

Discussion in 'Theme Parks Attractions and Strategies' started by Cluelyss, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. mesaboy2

    mesaboy2 Sad, strange little man to the gullible.

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    32,102
    Good point. Still not sure what the PP is trying to accomplish by scheduling less than 3, unless they’re thinking about hopping (not mentioned).
     
    JETSDAD likes this.
  2. Spintopbeach

    Spintopbeach Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    I don’t want to do tier 1 ride at Hollywood studios, just rnr and tot which I believe are tier 2. I wondered if after I tap in , can I then get another fp for each of those. There is also a chance that I might want a tier 1 at Epcot that day which I should be able to since I haven’t used a tier 1 right?
    @10 I have rnrc and at 11 tot. When can I book after using my first since it’s not tier 1? Thank you very confusing I know.
     
  3. Avatar

    Advertisement


  4. hiroMYhero

    hiroMYhero I'm satisfied with my care... Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    15,066
    You can book for Epcot as soon as you enter your first FP line.

    If staying in Studios, your initial 3 FPs of the day have to be for 3 different attractions. Only then can you re-ride RNRC or ToT by booking FP#4.
     
    Spintopbeach and mesaboy2 like this.
  5. Spintopbeach

    Spintopbeach Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Ok thank you. I have star tours, rnr count and tot. After I've tapped in at ride4, I can get another fp for tot? When that fp is used, do I get another one or am I done? Thank you.
     
  6. hiroMYhero

    hiroMYhero I'm satisfied with my care... Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    15,066
    As soon as you enter the line for FP#3, book #4...it can be for any ride.

    Enter the line for FP#4 and book FP#5 which can also be for any ride in Studios...continue booking in the same manner.
     
    Spintopbeach likes this.
  7. Babsy

    Babsy DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4,491
    So, I may have a problem. I a trying to change my reservations but no luck so far. Dates remain the same - I am changing ticket media and package to a room only.

    I have the package including tickets currently booked. However, I am trying to book a room only and buy tickets separately. The MDE website won't let me book another room right now - it keeps saying that "We had to duck out." This has gone on for days now. UGH!

    My question is: If I book my FP+ while MDE has me still booked with this package, will I be able to link other tickets and book a room only THEN cancel the package without losing the booked FP+? Worried that I won't be able to change the bookings before the 60 day mark when I need to book FP+!!!

    Thanks!
     
  8. hiroMYhero

    hiroMYhero I'm satisfied with my care... Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    15,066
    Yes, it’s the newly linked tickets that will keep your FPs intact. So purchase and link your separate tickets now if you want.
     
  9. Babsy

    Babsy DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4,491
    Great! Thank you!
     
    hiroMYhero likes this.
  10. Dash7

    Dash7 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    I need some help understanding what to do when they cancel a fastpass and give you something else instead. I just got an email canceling my BTMRR fastpass due to "an unexpected change in the operating schedule of an attraction." The email says they rescheduled me for Splash Mountain. Then I got a second email telling me the same BTMRR was canceled and I've been rescheduled for Buzz Lightyear. So now I have 5 FP showing for that day, including the one which is presumably canceled. I can't modify any of them because it tells me that there are no fastpasses for anything available at all. I don't know if it's because the system is completely whacked out at this point or what. But in theory should I be able to change these replacement fastpasses?
     
  11. Spintopbeach

    Spintopbeach Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    185
     
  12. WishUponAStarryNight

    WishUponAStarryNight DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    514
    This thread is very helpful. I want to be sure I'm understanding a couple things correctly. I'm planning one morning in HS on a day with morning EMH. I currently have 9am FP for RnR, 10am for Alien Saucers and 11am for ToT. No SDD availability.

    1. In order to look for SDD availability, I have to try to modify my Alien Saucers FP, but MDE won't show me anything that might become available during my RnR or ToT FP periods? Is this correct?

    2. My plan is to RD EMH so I don't think I'll need the 11am ToT FP. We'll be hopping to Epcot after HS. Am I correct that I will need to tap in for ToT (or another 2nd tier 2 FP) in order to look for a Tier 1 FP in Epcot? All three FPs must be used before looking for Tier 1 availability elsewhere if one of the original 3 is a Tier 1 - is this right?

    Thank you!
     
  13. mesaboy2

    mesaboy2 Sad, strange little man to the gullible.

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    32,102
    Both are correct.
     
    WishUponAStarryNight likes this.
  14. WishUponAStarryNight

    WishUponAStarryNight DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    514
    Thanks for the speedy reply!
     
  15. hiroMYhero

    hiroMYhero I'm satisfied with my care... Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    15,066
    No, you don’t need to tap at ToT.

    Booking a Tier1 for Epcot is fine as your 3rd FP.

    Cancel ToT. As soon as you enter the FP line for RNRC, go on the app and book your Epcot Tier1 FP.
     
  16. mrsbowen09

    mrsbowen09 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    I want to check FP Availability for another day that I don't have FP booked for. I tried the method listed, but it didn't work. It told me that I already have the maximum amount of FP booked for the duration of my trip when just trying to check availability. Is there another way to do it or do they prevent you from doing this now? We are wanting to change our park days around, but I wanted to see if certain FP would be available on a different day before I cancel the ones that I do have.
     
  17. JETSDAD

    JETSDAD DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,162
    The method of modifying for a park you already have FP's for or going through the warning for a different park on a day that you already have FP's for are the only options available. If you are wanting to see availability for a day that you do not have FP's for and are at your max you won't be able to look without dropping a day of FP's.
     
    hiroMYhero likes this.
  18. hiroMYhero

    hiroMYhero I'm satisfied with my care... Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    15,066
    Checking availability for a day without any booked FPs and with all entitlements holding FPs cannot be done. You’d have to Cancel a day of FPs to free up a ticket entitlement to check a ‘new’ park day.
     
    JETSDAD likes this.
  19. lillykat

    lillykat DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,368
    Ok trying to plan dining as the ADR window is opening soon. We have not been to WDW since for 5 years so a lot has changed. We are arriving Easter day. If I am correct in reading all of this (sorry trying to catch up on 5 years of changes)- will we be out of luck in scheduling FPs for the main newer rides - like avatar, toy story land, 7DMT? We have 6 day tickets - We are arriving Sunday but not starting the parks until Monday. Will I be able to schedule the FPs as of 60 days from the arrival day or our first day in the parks (Monday). Also we are probably only going to have the morning in the parks the last day as we will be flying home. Does this mean we won't get any decent FPs the first 3-4 days of our trip? Trying to plan which park we will do which days. Usually we avoid EMH as they are more crowded parks. Is the new thinking with the CL FPs that you should go to the EMH to compensate for the fewer FP offerings.
     
  20. hiroMYhero

    hiroMYhero I'm satisfied with my care... Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    15,066
    Yes; your window opens based on your check-in date.

    Begin booking high priority rides (See the FP FAQ Sticky) first for later in your trip. Also check the Tiering in the FAQ and you will be able to pre-book 3 FPs for each park day and then use the app to search for others.
     
  21. peanutgirl

    peanutgirl DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    I have booked a ten day pass with my pAckage and also have a two day pass from a past trip for a 12 day trip at Christmas. If I book fast passes for 12 days and then change my ten day to an AP when I get there and not use my two day pass will I lose my fast passes fir two days. Sorry this is confusing but I am confused
     

Share This Page