Freedom of the Seas

Shanna-like-Banana

DIS Veteran
Hi to all,

I'm a newbie to this board.

This will be my 2nd cruise and DH's first.

We are booked on Freedom of the Seas

We have an ocean view balcony on the 8th floor.

It's the western carribean route that leaves Ft. Lauderdale and goes to Labadee, Haiti and Falmouth Jamaica.

Looking just hints, tips, to-dos, skip this, etc

Specifically looking for something that directly spells out what is NOT included and how much those things are.

We've read that Labadee is a private island owned by the cruise line, but get conflicting info.

We've already read that Falmouth isn't the greatest stop over. Pretty much stay in the gated port area and only book excursions through the ship only.

Any info would be great

Thanks !

There are other ports on the FOS Western route along with Labadee and Falmouth...Grand Cayman and Cozumel are also included (I leave on FOS in just a few weeks for this same route).

I've been on FOS before (albeit about 5 years ago) and my husband and I just loved this ship. We did the Eastern route with our two kids but this trip is just DH and I.

Like most mainstream cruise lines, there are extra costs associated with some things such as specialty dining (Chops, the steakhouse...Portofino for Italian...Johnny Rockets for casual burgers) and they charge for soda (but you can buy a soda 'card')

I agree with the previous poster that there is a ton of information on Cruise Critic, including posts of the Navigators for FOS that will give a good idea of what there will be to do.