From Solo to 20 Tweens…Just Keep Swimming - A May 2018 TR

DISbot

Mouseketeer
Hello and :welcome:

Please bear with this long-time lurker, first time trip reporter as we get started…

I’m Brittany, an almost 30-something who has been getting to Disney World more and more frequently over the past few years. I’m a computer engineer by day, and improviser/performer by night - so I tend to be all over the place. I love touring Disney differently each trip, and trying something new (although that gets progressively more difficult). I don’t do thrill rides, but for this reason I’m a huge fan of the “Disney coaster” as I can handle everything in the Disney parks except Tower of Terror. My all-time favorite ride is the Haunted Mansion, favorite meal so far is California Grill Brunch, and I will sing along to the Carousel of Progress every trip.

42695252981_96ff204c8f_k.jpg

Pictured above are me and my mother – the reason for this trip.

This trip was one of the two “support” trips I used this year to justify renewing my annual pass. My mother teaches middle school chorus, and wanted to take her select choir to Disney World as their big field trip (they did NYC last year).

I am big on transparency even regarding financial aspects, as it’s much easier to plan trips if you have data to compare to, as well as the fact that I’m constantly crunching the numbers for “cost-saving opportunities” such as the Disney Dining Plan, so I will intersperse some spending data throughout the report and summarize at the end. I’m also interested in the “ideal/planned” vs. the “actual” of trips so bear with me (or skip past) the details below on what the plan for this trip was.

The plans:

The trip took place May 27 – June 1, with me enjoying some solo time in the park May 27-29 and operating as tour guide and trip coordinator May 29-31.

May 27 – All about Magic Kingdom
-Arrive at MCO 9AM
-Get to MK by 12PM