Getting from San Diego to Hotel Del Coronado?

Sunny37

DIS Veteran
What would be the less expensive route? I have NO experience in this area! :sunny:

Thanks!

If you mean by car, you would take Freeway 5-south to the
Coronado Bridge-west go to Orange Ave-south(the main street
with the pine and palm tree island) and you can't miss it.
The bridge is now free.
Hope that helps. :)

A GoofyTigFig said:
If you mean by car, you would take Freeway 5-south to the
Coronado Bridge-west go to Orange Ave-south(the main street
with the pine and palm tree island) and you can't miss it.
The bridge is now free.
Hope that helps. :)

Sorry, I wasn't clear. No, we won't have a car...but I will have a trolley pass.

The usual options apply...

A trolly pass will not take you over the bridge to Coronado Island. So you will have to get a lift there one way or another.

#1) rent a car - pay for parking, gas and so on - but gain total freedom with a degree of savings - depending on how much you need or use it.

#2) taxi around. This generally costs the most - and offers speed and convenience in most respects. IE, no parking, no going to and from parking, no getting lost driving around, etc.

#3) hop an airport shuttle. This is probably the most practical alternative if you are not doing a rental car. It is usually shared so you may have to wait while other patrons are dropped off ahead of you - and it is only for getting to and from the hotel.

#4) There probably is a city bus you could take to get there - but I can't confrim this - nor would I recommend this. After what you pay to fly and stay at the Del... coming up on a city bus would be pretty silly.

In the end I would recommend a car. The cost for 2 folks and a shuttle are about what a rental costs for a day. Then - if you want to go anywhere - you're gonna have to have a lift. A rental car seems like the most efficient. Now - if you're just staying T the Del the whole time then you obviously don't need a rental car.