Give Kids the World Village, Wish Granters, and Autism

mowgli1229

Earning My Ears
Hi, I have been a long time lurker on these boards, but this is my first time posting. I’ve found a lot of useful information here to help in planning our trip to Disney World.

My 10 year old son is mildly autistic, and he loves, loves, loves Mickey Mouse. So we have been trying to plan a trip to Disney World for 2 years. We have even had the trip booked a couple of times, but always have to cancel due to other things that come up that affect our finances.

So we have started looking for wish organizations that may grant wishes to mildly autistic children. So far I have only found one that will grant wishes to autistic children, and that is the Sunshine Foundation. However, based on the information on their website, it sounds like they will only grant wishes to moderately to severely autistic children, and you have to stay at their Dream Village.

Now don’t get me wrong. If we were lucky enough to get a free trip to Disney World, I would gladly stay wherever the company told me I had to. The problem is that a few months ago, my son was in the computer room with me while I was reading through a trip report for a family that was granted a wish to stay at Give Kids the World Village. After reading about this amazing place and seeing the pictures on the trip report, my son now wants to stay at Give Kids the World Village. I think he almost wants to stay there more than he even wants to meet Mickey Mouse.

So I was wondering if anyone on here might know of an organization that will grant a wish to a mildly autistic child to go to Disney World and stay at Give Kids the World Village. We live in Cincinnati, OH if that helps.

Thanks in advance for any information.

I am not positive, but I think that Give Kids The World is just for kids with life threatening illness. Rejoice that your son doesn't fit the criteria!