Glasses opinions for Universal

Cottoncandylove

Merrily, Merrily, Merrily...
I have reached an age where i have to wear glasses for everything now or everything is blurry and fuzzy. What's the best idea to keep my glasses on my head and still do rides? They are progressive, transitions so i don't switch with sunglasses or anything. I just wanted to hear what others used and what ideas were out there. Until this year i only wore readers so this is a new experience for me. Any and all help is appreciated!!!

Last edited:
I hope others will share info here for your question.

I’m new to wearing glasses and did not even think about how to do some rides (coasters) with them on.

My dad wore his glasses on all the rides with no issue. If your glasses are properly adjusted to where they fit you like they should, you should have no issue. I don't wear eyeglasses, but I always take my sunglasses to Lenscrafters before a trip and have them do an adjustment to make sure they are fitting me right and to make sure the hardware is tight. Its done for free there. As PP mentioned, you can get glasses straps/retainers to hook on them just in case.

One thing I would suggest is carrying an eyeglass repair case with you either in your park bag or at least in your luggage. You can get cheap ones on Amazon or even at the Dollar Tree, but make sure it comes with extra screws. I once had a sunglass lens fall out and lost a screw, but was able to fix it because I had that. You never know when that can happen or glasses will break, which would be just awful to have happen on vacation with no access to an eyeglass store or eye doctor!

My youngest son has worn eyeglasses since he was almost 1 year old, he is 11 now, one thing we do is make sure we have extra pairs with us, I think my wife has it now he has 2 regular sets and 1 set of transition also.

I recall a couple of rides where the ac works really well and coming outside he will have fogged up glasses.