Goofy 2015 - Am I crazy?

jerivera

Mouseketeer
Hi all!

I'm new to W.I.S.H., and I'm only just now starting to walk/jog/run, with my ultimate goal being that I run Goofy's Race in 2015.

I'm doing it to lose weight and improve health... but lets be real, the real reason is I want a great excuse to go back to Disney, and those medals look awesome!!! :goodvibes Wife already said if I did run a marathon she'd agree to go back! :woohoo:

Which is cool, any motivation that gets me active is good motivation. :)

The question is, is Goofy an insane goal? I'm a pretty (...ok, VERY) sedentary 36 year old guy. Always have been. So this exercise thing is kind of new to me. Still, I've been enjoying my fast walks (to my surprise). Hoping to start jogs soon, but taking it slow (following preliminary training from The Non-Runner's Marathon Trainer book).

I obviously don't expect to do great, but would I just essentially wipe myself out for days if I tried to do it? Do you need to be in good shape to do it? It would really suck to be at Disney World, do the race, then be comatose for 5 days after the race in the hotel room!

Thanks! :goodvibes

I'm no coach/trainer, but I would say "it depends." I went from Couch to Dopey in one year, but that doesn't mean anyone could or should. I got really lucky in a lot of ways. I'm writing up my experience and lessons learned for a blog and I'll share that link when it's up.

Given 52 weeks and a goal of "finishing in the upright position" I think you have a fair chance!

I don't think it's insane. I wouldn't do it personally, but I agree with @DoctorK...it depends.

Are you running at all now? If not, you may want to look into something like Couch to 5K to get you started. ETA: oops, just re-read your post and saw you have a book you're following! :goodvibes: And above all other things, before you start running, get fitted for shoes at a running store. Keep these shoes for running only.