Grocery store availability

Smitty74

Earning My Ears
I am a complete WDW newbie, I like to eat, and I like to save cash. With that in mind I have a question for you guys.

We are staying at the POR and are getting a shuttle van to the resort from the airport as part of our package. My question is are there any grocery stores available to me down there without having to get a rental car?

I will probably be packing a bag to take with us full of non-perishable food, but if there are no grocery stores available, are there places there to purchase perishable items like milk and bread, and lunch meat?

Thanks in advance for the advice, we are going on our honeymoon!

Smitty74

You can try the convenience store at POR- It will definitely have the milk and bread and possibly some lunch meat (pre-packaged variety) I think they have a pretty good refrigerated section I recall. Or, you could try Netgrocer.com, not sure of how or if they ship "perishables" I am looking for the same type of service myself, we are staying at OKW in April and there has to be a grocery store that delivers!! If I find it, I'll email you. Good luck and have a wonderful time, POR is awesome!

net grocer only seems to sell non-perishable stuff. Somebody mentioned on this board somewhere that you could rent cars by the day somewhere on Disney. If so, that might be a nice idea one night. you could go to the store, plus go out on the town for an evening. any info on that?

Why not just hire a town car instead of taking the shuttle. Yes, for 2 it will be a little more expensive, but the convience...and they will allow you a 1/2 hour grocery stop. You could pick up perishables...I would think that the price difference between the shuttle and the towncar would still be less than renting a car onsite for a day.
The only two I can think of are Tiffany Towncar and Happy Limo. I know they both have websites and you can find $5 coupons for round trip!