Hard disk failure. Please help!

moon

DIS Veteran
So, a power surge killed the HD on my desktop. I called a tech guy who charges $270 to fix it. That is too much for me right now, so I was wondering if I could fix this myself, but I'm not tech savvy at all and I don't feel comfortable with opening the case.

I wonder if it is possible to just get an external HD loaded with Windows to fix the problem?

I don't care about data recovering now, I just want to have the computer up an running ASAP.

Also, is there a way to get my copy of Windows 10 back without a key?

BTW, if anyone knows how to truly protect your electronics from power surges, please let me know. I thought I was protected...

If you previously set up Microsoft account on the PC in question, then you can do a "bare metal" reinstall of Windows 10 and when you then log into your Microsoft account after you load Win10 your license key information will be retrieved from Microsoft. You will need to get a copy of Win10 install media (search "Windows 10 1803 ISO") and create a bootable DVD or USB drive from another working PC. You may need to change the BIOS setup on your PC to make sure that you can boot from a DVD or USB drive. If your drive is "fried", you may need to replace it before the process will work.

Here's a YouTube video that describes the process:

Last edited:
A power surge usually breaks a system board or power supply, not necessarily the hard drive. If you don't care about the data because it is backed up you could just do a fresh installation of Windows on a new drive and go from there.

If you are sure it is the drive and it just has some damaged sectors you can run SpinRite on it. It is $89 and is something I recommend everyone runs on every disk drive they own a few times a year anyway.