Help! DCL says my plans violate Pass Vessel act

Disneypeach

Fan of the Fort
I’ve booked b2b Wonder 5 night San Diego to Vancouver followed by first Hawaii cruise.
I’m no expert on this law but I don’t understand how the combo could violate the passanger vessel act. The first cruise ends in a foreign in port and the second starts in a foreign port.
DCL let me book them but have told my TA that I can’t do it this way.
What am I missing here?
thanks

I’ve booked b2b Wonder 5 night San Diego to Vancouver followed by first Hawaii cruise.
I’m no expert on this law but I don’t understand how the combo could violate the passanger vessel act. The first cruise ends in a foreign in port and the second starts in a foreign port.
DCL let me book them but have told my TA that I can’t do it this way.
What am I missing here?
thanks
As noted, the PVSA says that a foreign-flagged ship cannot transport passengers from one US port to a different US port without a stop in a DISTANT foreign port. A distant foreign port is, basically, any port NOT in North America.

While each of those cruises is legal by itself, combining them makes your cruise from San Diego to Honolulu. And no distant foreign port is visited during either cruise. So it's illegal.

Now, if you were to get off the ship in Vancouver and get on a different ship to Hawaii, that would be legal.

Thanks all. 😘
I thought since it “Stopped” in Vancouver it would be thought of as separate things.
DCL rep just explained to me that if I had called in instead of booking online they would have been able to tell me immediately that it wouldn’t work but the online system doesn’t know.
oh well, I cancelled the 5 night to keep my Hawaii cruise.

Thanks all. 😘
I thought since it “Stopped” in Vancouver it would be thought of as separate things.
DCL rep just explained to me that if I had called in instead of booking online they would have been able to tell me immediately that it wouldn’t work but the online system doesn’t know.