Help ! I am new to this Disney thing !

frankiemom

DIS Veteran
Hi! I just found this board and really love it! I am thinking about going to Disney in May. I got the e-mail about the deals on the Moderate hotels and was thinking about the Carribean Beach Resort. This is our first time to Disney (I was there 3 times as a child but not since '86 so alot has changed) Please give me any tips about what kind of tickets to get to which places, places to eat, hotels to stay etc. I have been dying to call and get a quote but I have lyrengitis! So maybe on Moday I will call. Right now I am just pouring over websites for information.

Oh, by the way DH thinks my son who is going to be 4 in Apr.. is too young and many other people keep telling me the same thing-can I have some feedback on this. I don't think he is. I want to try for another child and would not go until that sibling was 4 so that means my son would not get to Disney til he was 8 or 9 for the first time. Please give me any advice you can. Thanks!:pinkbounc

Hi! How exciting! I think and many here will agree, planning is half the fun. There is tons of information here as well as tons of choices, so ask any questions. As for the age thing, my kids have been going to Disney since they were all well under 4. I also had people suggest maybe they were too young or whatever. But our last trip in Octoberf my youngest had just turned 2 and he probably had the best time of all. Plus it is just the best as parents watching their reaction! Welcome to the Boards!

I personally know several people who have taken 4 yr olds to WDW and the child doesn't remember it at all when he's older. HOWEVER, that is no reason to not take a 4 yr old! It would probably be a lot of fun for him and for you! Then when your second child is 4 or so, and your 4 yr old is 8 or 9, that will be his second trip and he'll enjoy it so much more.