Help me choose a Disney Half Marathon?

JAMIESMITH

DIS Veteran
We are saving up for a five night, six day Disney vacation to be taken in 2023 or 2024. I've been dying to run a race at Disney for several years. My older daughter will be fourteen or fifteen for this trip, depending on exactly when we go. She has ran a bunch of 5Ks and her first 10K already and is open to trying some longer distances. I'm thinking that Disney would be the perfect place for her to run her first half marathon and I would really love to share that experience with her. This will also be my younger daughter's first Disney trip. She will most likely be six when we we travel.

My husband REALLY hates crowds. We have always traveled in some of the least crowded times, mid-September and late January. I'm trying to determine which race weekend would have the lowest crowds. I don't care about crowds on the race course so much as actually in the parks. Spring Surprise is the only hard no because spring is my busiest season at work. We would plan to arrive early in the morning the day before the half marathon and stay into the following week.

Marathon weekend seems to be the least expensive in terms of hotel rooms and tickets, but I am worried about how close the races fall to New Years over the next few years. It would be cool to go right after Christmas and this is usually an extremely slow time for me at work.

Princess weekend would be cool because my younger daughter's birthday would fall either right at the end of our trip or the day we get home. The only downside to this weekend is that my older daughter might miss a tennis match.

Despite not going through Magic Kingdom, I think the Wine & Dine Half course looks the most interesting. I've also trained for fall half marathons before.