How to shoot Happily Ever After

mom2rtk

Invented the term "Characterpalooza"
I've got the fireworks thing down. I feel pretty good about my technique. But dang, those projections throw me for a loop. I like longer exposure shots, but how do you do that without mangling the projection images on the castle?

I shot Disneyland Forever during DLR's 60th. Fireworks were good. Castle was a mangled mess on most shots. The next night I shot Halloween Screams and adjusted by going with some shorter shutter speeds. But of course, I had fewer bursts in my shots.

What's the "go to" advice here? Just go with the shorter shots? Do I need to ruin the spontaneity of watching for the first time by studying it on YouTube?

If I need to be a Photoshop expert and combine more than one image, I'm out since my editing skills are more exposure related. I'm not good at image manipulation.

So....... suggestions and advice? Have examples you want to share?

We'll probably do the Plaza Garden dessert party so will be in that viewing area. I'll probably shoot from the TTC on another night.

There are a number of "scenes" throughout HEA. For each scene the overall castle projection remains the same, but there are "windows" and spots where the action takes place. Unless you have a really long exposure which crosses over from one scene to the other, you will be able to capture the overall theme. Here is an example towards the end. I was using 6 to 12 second exposures.

This is a 6 second exposure...

_DSC2182-X2.jpg

This is a 10 second exposure.

_DSC2183-X3.jpg

I can easily make out the characters in the 6 second exposure and even the 10 second one. The overall look of the castle remained the same.