Hundreds in college textbooks - what to do with them all?

LuvOrlando

DIS Veteran
I'm bored and cleaning & realized my kids have literally hundreds of dollars in textbooks that I gathered. I remember half.com being great a long way back but they are gone now. I want to sell them but where? I looked it up on google and see many options but the fact a place exists doesn't mean its a good idea to engage. I haven't been in school for a while so if anyone out there has experience as a seller (buyer too I guess for summer classes) please share what you like & why. I know my daughter likes Poshmark for selling clothes so maybe there is something similar for books?

Selling old textbooks is almost a lost art. The problem is publishers constantly bring out new editions of the same book for professors to require for a class (kickbacks? I don't know!). I'm currently a graduate student and haven't purchased a book in over 8 semesters (MS and PhD), I either rent from Amazon the physical book(and return it) or the ebook and it just disappears at the end of the rental time. My bookshelf only has current design standards (I'm in civil engineering), no textbooks. I just finished an online engineering course (designed as an online course before the university shut down). The instructor recorded the class a few years ago and kept referring to chapters and assignments from the 2nd edition textbook (he didn't update the PowerPoints either). We were in edition 5. It was a constant "Chapter 4 is now Chapter 7", "Assignment questions 2, 4, 6, 8 are now 6, 17, 3, 11", on and on the entire semester, the same information just rearranged by the publisher. Good luck.

I sold my kids old text books from HS on Amazon. Perhaps you could check that out...if I recall correctly (once at the right place/on right page) you enter the ID number of the book and they give you a price. It's been a few years - probably two?
I suppose ebay may be a option, or donate them?
Good luck!