• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

I Could really use your HELP- NEED INFO FOR STRESSED MOM- BROTHER HAS CP

DonaldsGrl103

DIS Veteran
Hey everyone this is my first time coming to this forum as I have been hesitant since all my life this has been a touchy subject. My brother has severe cebral palsy and since our last trip with him back in 1999 he has aquired a feeding tube, so my mom is really hesitant and very persistant that she is too scared to do this. We would LOVE especially me to go to disney with my brother but has some concerns as to where will we change him? IS first aid a good private place and is open the whole time the park is? Will they store his formula until we need to feed him? Will they charge him at character meals even though he cant eat? Also how will we be able to bathe him? At home we have a special chair? Will we need to mail it down( if thats even possible?) or do they have some special accomodations. He cant speak or walk so he is totally dependent upon us but loves music and is joy to be with. I would appreciate anyones help and kindness in this matter as I might show it to my mom to ease her fears. We will stay on the monorial line defiantly for quick access back to the room. THANKS and hopefully we can convince my mom that my brother wont be in any danger and that they both will have a great time

I can answer a few of your questions.

Disney has accessible rooms- they vary by what you need. they have the hand held shower with the whole bathroom tiled for shower, just a curtain seperates the toilet.

as far as special equipment. disney does not have it. if you look at one of the posts that has ECV or wheelchair in the title, you can get the websites and phone #'s of the equipment rental places. I believe I saw bath items on a few.