I have no brain but I must plan - a solo Feb 2019 pre-trip report

RedK

Mouseketeer
Hi all
First PTR here! I'm a professional planner, but right now I feel like I am behind the curve. Follow along and help me make some decisions. Your advice is very welcome!!!!

This will be my 4th trip to WDW. Six years ago was my first trip, a 5 day 3 family extravaganza in September. Two years later, I did a 4 day with a friend. Then I was scheduled for a 7-day Sept 2017 trip with a few days solo and a few days with a friend, but Hurricane Irma came along and I cancelled it. I ended up going in Feb 2018 and had a great time. My friend was able to join me for a few days, and it was awesome. That was the first time I'd ever gone away somewhere sunny in the dark cold days of the year, and it made such a difference to my mood for months. A Disney February trip may be my new normal, and it's my birthday, so I deserve it!

I spent about two weeks checking availability and costs. I like the moderates, and I've stayed in both CS and POFQ. I admit to dreaming over Wilderness Lodge and the Poly but I can't afford them. CS is my favorite of the moderates. I love the atmosphere, the decor, sitting by the lake with a drink, and I was able to watch fireworks from my room in Casitas 4. No idea which park they were, but it was a wonderful surprise. Yet when I looked over the costs, availability and timelines, I ended up booking a week at POFQ garden room 02/08-02/16 on a room-only deal. That means I get home late on a Saturday and still have Sunday and Presidents day to catch up on laundry etc. before heading back to work. I have always done the Magic Your Way package in the past, but from a co-worker I found out I can buy park tickets through work and save about $100. I love a bargain!