"I just wanna feel some sunshine" - 2019 Training Journal

Introduction

I’m Dis_Yoda. I’m a 32 year old engineer who now works in the public sector after 11 years of working in the private manufacturing industry.

Y2aeVbO.jpg

To say I’ve fallen off the running bandwagon is an understatement. After my ankle surgery in May 2017, it’s been hard to get back into the habit. The loss of my legacy race (Light Side) didn’t help either especially after my ankle caused me to lose my other legacy race (Dark Side.) Add to that a job that was crushing my soul, my motivation was gone. It also didn’t help that my favorite yoga teacher stopped teaching her evening beach yoga classes so I felt lost. I hate yoga at her home studio as her kids always interrupted. I also was tutoring children in math that affected my evening/weekend schedule as well. All of these are excuses but it was real to me at the time. I worked on fixing the cause of those problems.

Well, my ankle is healed. I got a new job in October 2018 that won’t let me work at home if I tried. My job also has weekly yoga during lunch hour starting January 7th. I quit tutoring. I quit the gym that I was spending money to and not going as I rather exercise outside. I live in Southwest Florida so I need to enjoy that. 2019 has got to be better than 2018.

My Goals for 2019
  1. Start training again for the 10K mileage and maintain pace. My performance has been horrible as of late. Its 100% my fault too from lack of training.​
  2. Train Gantu to run up to a 5K after confirmation of growth plate closure. We will be getting his hips X-Ray’d in February to confirm proper formation. We’re already working on his endurance with long walks and getting used to staying next to us while on the waist leash. His ultimate goal is to earn his Endurance Trial title in November 2020 at the Rhodesian Ridgeback National Speciality in Texas. Yes, I became that crazy dog owner.​