I really thought I was going to buy resale first...

MickyLynn

Mouseketeer
...but then we got down here and it was just so easy! 😁 We now have 75 points at OKW, which is really 150 points for this winter, since we won't be back before Feb.
Honestly, I think the Wyndham timeshare presentation and the crappy hotel we're in at the moment softened us up.

They had OKW points on the spot for you? You didn't need to go on a wait list?

Were you thinking of OKW as a home resort or what made you decide on OKW?

They had OKW available. And really it was just the price. DH loved the Polynesian and BWV, but it doesn't make sense to buy those direct bc of the price and the contract length, respectively.

We did the same thing in May. We fell in love with OKW after staying there twice. We bought 100 points (enough for a studio during the season we love to go.) I've been stalking these boards for a few years, so I know direct is sky high compared with resale prices. Our next contract will most definitely be resale. The restrictions of resale getting tighter & tighter were freaking me out a little too. Just watching/waiting the last 18 months so many things have been taken away from resale buyers and so many contracts I would have thought would've fit our family were taken by ROFR. I knew if we could not get OKW extended that day we would not buy direct initially. Lucky us, they had the points. We aren't getting any younger, and our kids aren't getting any younger. This just felt like the right time in our lives to pull the trigger. We now have 200 points to use next May for our trip. Since we typically do not go at a busy DVC season, I am quite sure we will be able to easily do split stays at other resorts at 7 months :). I could've waited one more year until my school loan is paid off, but prices continue to soar. I've seen resale prices increase so much over the last couple of years it makes me wish I bought sooner when I thought DVC would be perfect for us! We had so many gre