If you could only take your child to Disney World once, what age would be the “sweet spot” to do it

Snake the jake

Earning My Ears
i might be biased on this question since I’m a kindergarten teacher, but I think the summer after kindergarten would be that time. They are big enough for the rides but little enough to still believe in the pixie dust of it all. Then again, the drawback of this age is they get tired easily and might need to do 8 half days in the park instead of 4 full days. What do you think?

I think 4-6. It depends on how tall and how sensitive the children are. If they are tall enough to go on most rides (38 for 7DMT or 44 for Space Mountain). If your child is adventurous, it would probably be better o wait until the are a bit taller. I think at that age they can still go in a stroller if necessary and they still believe all the chatCters are real.

My kids could normally do all day at the parks then, especially I they napped in the stroller.

Lots of people have other kids by the time one enters kindergarten so it's complicated by that.

I do think the 4-6 age range is a great age for Disney though.

We waited till DD was 7 thinking this trip would be a one and done. Good thing we all fell in love with WDW because she doesn’t remember that trip at all. We went two years later when she was 9, and not only was it a blast, she remembers it.

I guess it depends on the child.

Last edited: