Insulin users - Need help/advice!

disneygirl1971

Mouseketeer
Are there any insulin users out there that can offer any help or advice on using insulin pens (Lantus) compared to using regular insulin in a vial with a syringe (Lantus)? I'm new to using insulin (although I've been type 2 diabetic for 5 years) and can't decide which route to go. Are there any advantages/disadvantages to either the pens or the vails? Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

My 5 yr old is type 1 but pumping. There are a couple of good forums for those with diabetes (type 1 or 2) where you can ask your question. The question is general enough for type 1 or 2 people to respond....I thought you might get many more responses there.

The Children with Diabetes board has several boards for general issues, adults (with type 1 or 2) etc. at http://forums.childrenwithdiabetes.com/index.php

The ADA has forums too: http://community.diabetes.org/n/pfx/forum.aspx?nav=index&webtag=amdiabetesz&redirCnt=1

I would think if the pens aren't much more expensive it would be easier to use them. Some people have noted problems with giving very small doses of fast acting with the novolog pen (like 1/2 unit doses). I haven't seen anyone on the parents board talk about problems with the lantus pen. I'm sure someone at those forums, if not here, can help.:thumbsup2

My DD liked pens much better then syringes(she is on the pump now).She said the pen didnt hurt as much.When we went out I found it easier to bring her pen along then bringing syringes and the insulin vials.

I have used both and much prefer the vials. But then, I am an R.N. and needles and vials are pretty familiar to me. :)